Summer 2014- a productive one please!

SUMMER 2014-  a productive one please!

I remember I had written an article about summer a long time ago, and I think it was a beautiful one. Oh summer, who would not like to be with you?

Everyone considers summer as the best part of the year. I agree with the idea because I made it. HAHA! Now, it is summer again and how do you want to spend it or how did you spend yours?  

My summer began right after I got cleared in school-finally! I had a week of rest and lots of procrastinations along the way but it did not stop me with my summer. I don’t really have the longing to have a dream summer of some sort, I just want one, spend it and just think of what to do along the way. And the thrill started when I went to a faraway church with my best friend, and the 2-hour travel was all worth it. We had this notion in us to really become what we envisioned to be and we went to this place called Simala to let all of our petitions out. We wanted peace in ourselves this summer and as well the rest of our lives. There we had written our petitions, attended the mass and kissed the miraculous image of the Virgin Mary.  It was a very nice place to see because it really suited my taste—a European one. The church stood in the middle surrounded by forest-like environment with its high attics like Hogwarts and it extended along the perimeter with its great walls and towers where you will find the different stations of the cross. The view was breath-taking and felt like I entered a new dimension just what I would feel when reading books.  And I considered that moment to be on my list for the bests. Though we encountered a very bad weather during that travel we still got through and made it more like an adventure. There is always something peaceful and amazing about simple things and simple travels because it is where we find our simple joy.

After Simala, we decided to visit our classmate and had a walk in their neighbourhood that was so peaceful unlike the city. There were rice fields, mountains and muddy trails everywhere; along the cold breeze and whistles of the crickets. We enjoyed ourselves and did not notice that the sky was already so grey so we did not go home and that night we decided to stay in Argao in my classmate’s house. We had had a Barbie-movie marathon and spent the night giggling then the day after we went to the local park to see some snakes, and other animals. It was so hot and from that moment on I realized it was already summer. I just spent the first week of April and still there are days waiting to be spent. What to do with my summer? This was the question that bothered me that time.

After having that lil get away, I found out already what my dream summer is- a productive summer. Yes , I am this kill-joy but it is the truth because all throughout the years I realized I wanted a summer that allows me to share myself with others. This is my happiness and I want to make it come true this vacation. So my ideal summer was a productive one.  I want to be a simple vessel of joy to others. I want to help others. I want to build their houses. I want to feed hungry stomachs. I want to read children sci-fi books. I want to divide myself. I just want a summer where in others will feel a lot warmer this summer, warmer in their hearts. This was what I wanted for a long time and I did not know where to start, and who to call I felt helpless but then it seemed that everything will go according to plan because out of nowhere, I was invited to become a volunteer back in Mindanao and I felt overwhelmed because I know that would be the start of my productive summer.

Later then, I was scheduled to travel back in my hometown. I was so excited of going home. After buying pasalubong(gifts) and had a date with my Aunt, my best friend surprised me when he asked to see me a few hours before my scheduled departure to give me a send-off lunch date. Oh! I’ll miss this person a lot I thought at that moment. In the pier I met my other classmate who was very willing to go back in Mindanao together with me and I was grateful for her company. 

When I came home I was so shocked that all of my trees(trees which I planted for my project during High School) where gone already replaced by cemented sidewalks and I felt heartbroken that time. I cared for them and watched them grow. But the view of our house took away all the pain and my heart was singing praises of joy—I’m home. I am home after three long months of enduring. And this was it- after my younger brother’s graduation , my cousin and I planned what are we going to do after and that is to be volunteers. Then we decided to promote our agendas first and publicize it online.

We started our collection with a blast because it was amazing for us when there are still people who cared. Little by little, the collection of books grew bigger in numbers and it was heart-warming. Not only the books that grew but the number of volunteers as well. There were always people who had the same principle with us and they were in the same situation with me at first because the problem was where to start. Leadership Through Action and Giving (LATAG) became a buzz in town and we were happy to people who received it positively and without hesitations. LATAG became the major part of my one-week stay in Mindanao.

Spending each day of my stay was tiring but worth it. The tiredness just announces it presence at night before I sleep and I was thankful for that because it allowed me greater chances to spend my day full and without regrets. Spending it was like racing the ticking of the clock yet you savor the moment. It was a week of fun and enthusiasm, it was a week where I finally found my kindred spirit and my true nature. The beaches that will always stay there, the pavements that looked better after the rain and the people I knew and grew up with are the things that I will surely miss but the things that surely I will treasure and will be the reason for me to go on and give everything my best in everything I do. 

I was back in Cebu bringing 3 major reasons: to take-up summer class, to be a responsible organizational secretary and to be with my bestfriend. I did the right thing and saw how summer would be such a waste if I hadn’t taken summer classes because all I’d do will sleep, eat, procrastinate and eat again if I haven’t enrolled. I saw my own self improving and that would add up to my ‘productive summer’ theme. I was having a great time while learning at the same time. Now, I believed that learning could be fun. It was a progress for my dream summer.

Being the secretary means you are the lifeline of the organization because you would be the one setting every plan in motion. For me, it is really a hard job but I am coping. As the movie spiderman, “ Great power comes with great responsibility.”  So I am acting and feeling every bit of becoming a responsible secretary and I know with proper amount of determination and dedication I would succeed. 

One of the tasks given to us by our authority was to observe Toastmaster’s club meeting specifically the Queencity Toastmasters’ Club. I did not really felt nervous that time because I always thought of it as challenging and it will be another avenue for me to learn and get experience from. And it was amazing totally none of what I and the other officers expected. I thought that there’ll be a debate and the ambiance would be freaking serious and boring but it was none of those things. The members were very accommodating and hospitable and we felt like members already and not as guests because they had just inspired us to become one of them. Their speeches were all good and might as well the speakers. And I would like to become like them and develop my skills. The experience gave me a lot of knowledge and gained me new acquaintances as well. I knew from that moment on I would never cease to go back because I think my heart and passion just found its new home.

I never regretted the start of my summer and it is not yet ending. I know I haven’t reached yet the climax of the story but this I wanted to share, that you can do what you dreamed of. This is my dream summer- my productive summer. I know that you think of it as different and boring but remember we are different persons motivated by different principles of life. You, yourself only knows you and what you want. Search that and try to live with that, summer or not. 

So what is your dream summer?

Summer 2014- a productive one please!

Leave a Reply

