Experiencing Sinulog 2k14

                                                                                                                                   source: http://pinoyfavs.blogspot.com/

Sinulog 2014

What makes people all over the Philippines and foreign tourists as well come to Cebu every Sinulog? What is really Sinulog about? 
Have you already experiencedthecolorful celebration of Sinulog? Well, for me this year was my real first time. I have been thrice (I think so) in a Sinulog festivity  during my childhood days but I never understood what is it for and I never knew how to celebrate it. All I like before were the colorful balloons. That was Sinulog for me then but now everything about it changed.
Sinulog is a dance ritual in honor of the miraculous image of the Santo Nino. The dance moves to the sound of the drums and this resembles the current (Sinulog) of what was then known as Cebu’s Pahina River. Thus, in Cebuano, they say it’s Sinulog.Sinulog is celebrated once a year to commemorate the christianity of the Filipinos wherein the given image of Sr. Sto. Nino by the Spanish Conquerors stood as a symbol of it: the acceptance of the new birth of religion in the land. A nine-day novena mass were done for the preparation of the Sinulog proper and ofcourse, I completed the Novena mass along with the devotees. People bring their children specially infants to let them be blessed and also their Sto. Ninos for blessing and good luck. And there was a belief that if ever you completed the nine novena masses a certain wish of yours will be granted. Maybe that was the main reason devotees come and celebrate here for the notion of hope. A hope to have a better life and what not.
During the Sinulog day one its highlights  was the different contingents in the country battling for the hope to become this year’s best dancers of Sinulog. First they undergo for the street parade and the contest proper right after it. I never had the time to watched intently for it but instead I hunted artists that day and that was what made my day moving. Though, I only saw a few of them still my heart was content of the sight and slightly made me think what made us adore them? WHAT MADE US ADORE THEM? They are humans and so are we. They talk , eat and live like we do in short we are all the same but what made them so special that we admire them a lot? They also make mistakes and maybe even worse. Well, if we are bad and faulty how much more they can be. Still I was confused until now but let me keep the ball rolling. I never had any solid plans for this day I just went with the flow and it was okay.
I never thought I would do the things I did this Sinulog. It was so unexpected and I was so content with the knowledge of what it was for me (plainly) and what it had given me. Hence, they would tell us you have to experience every piece of something. And believe me or not, the most kill-joy girl in the wide universe partied at baseline?! Isn’t it amazing? Isn’t it surprising? Isn’t it? I still can’t get over it. Wew, though I knew the things that would happen in a place like that I still insisted and went there. I really don’t have any strong reasons why I went. Maybe, I just went.
Booty-shaking everywhere. Alcohols splashing. Painted bodies. Couples making out. Everyone was enjoying and it included me I enjoyed the site and the ambiance and most specially the handsome hot guys who gives free hugs. HAHA.Hands were in the air with their drinks on their left. Bouncing in the beat while they shout and dance “ Pit Senyor!” Oh, let me tell you I forgot, the crowd was everywhere and you can’t move along without feeling another person’s heat and smell. It was gross a bit for me because everyone was dirty..what do you call that? Uhhmm.. Wet ‘n wild?! Well, everyone was wet ‘n wild but they didn’t care and nobody cared, they were feeling infinite. And at the very least they were free and they were just enjoying.. Revealing their demons inside that keeps lurking out and everybody has demons but it is the braver ones who are not afraid to let it show to the world. The night was where all of their demons came out. I just observed and I was happy and I understood now, why people like to party. They forget who they are and they become their demons dancing gracefully. And for me it is not that bad to be bad, it is good to be bad than just to look good. 
There where a lot of foreigners that night, there were even a few who grabbed and hugged me. Oh! Those hot smudging folks. Haha I was small and I just crept downwards to avoid strangers who would want to kiss you but I can still see what is happening around me. I like the new atmosphere and take a journey from it or maybe just observe and learn from it and I did the latter. The adventurous night was memorable because for the first time ever I had been to a street party…
To be realistic, people came not only to remember the birth of our christianity but to party. Maybe that is their main reason behind the travel and expenses. It can be to make out or just party or go along with folks or become someone you are not. One organizer of a street party, Spectrum said and that was their motto of the team as well, “ They just want We just want to have the right amount of wrongs”. 
This is a moment when you light your spark but as the night fades so will you spark. Everything is just temporary and maybe what you felt the night was infinite but that was only for the night because still you wake up tomorrow and see all the realities there is. You can’t go away with problems, you have to face it. 
Maybe, I just don’t get the gist of the addiction it can give because we are our own will. We can always control. Though I may sound so harsh about it now, I know, well we all don’t know that maybe in the future I will do a lot of parties and drink and everything… but for now, I am very sure I will never repeat what I did last night(for now) because in my case it just delays a point in your life when you can spend it more wisely. You get hang-over and rest and so you lose a time that maybe that would give it more worth if it is spent with friends, family or even meet strangers in a different way. There are many alternatives in making problems disappear and first step to it is: face it. Enjoy the bright day and live young. Today, I am happy I did what I did last night, no regrets for I have more knowledge of what better things to do next. I was happy then and I know I will be happier if I know how to balance everything out. I am still studying so I will try my best to give my everything for it because there is always one day that I can have all the parties I want and what not. There is perfect time for everything. Allow me to use a quote that sums up what I learned from that night: “ No man chooses evil because it is evil. He only mistakes it for happiness, the good he seeks”- Mary Wollstonecraft.
Experiencing Sinulog 2k14

Leave a Reply

